Supporters Direct Scotland
Furthering supporter involvement
within Scottish football
menu buttonMain Menu
menu buttonPage Menu

PFA Scotland announce Manager of the Year candidates

Robbie Neilson

The Scottish PFA have announced the four man shortlist for the Manager of the Year award. Hearts’ Robbie Neilson is joined by Celtic boss Ronny Deila, Aberdeen Manager Derrick McInnes and Inverness Caledonian Thistle’s John Hughes. McInnes won in 2014 and this year’s recipient will be announced on 3 May.

Under Neilson, Hearts have thoroughly dominated the SPFL Championship ahead of Rangers and city rivals Hibernian, setting a new points record in the process. They host Rangers in this weekend’s final round of league fixtures before the play-offs.

Deila has already led Celtic to the League Cup and lost out to Inverness in the Scottish Cup semi-final in controversial circumstances. With a considerable lead in the league, they are expected to wrap up another championship in the coming weeks, despite season-long pressure from Aberdeen.

The Don’s manager McInnes is enjoying another excellent season in charge at Pittodrie. They have challenged Celtic closely in the league and although look certain to miss out on a first league title since the 80’s, the 2014/15 season represents a success for Aberdeen, despite the lack of silverware; it will be there first second placed finish in 21 years.

John Hughes has overseen another successful season at Inverness, that could be capped off with a Scottish Cup victory as they take on Falkirk at Hampden in late May. They currently lie third in the table and could end the season qualifying for Europe.

Share this page